Bible Study: The Seven Feasts of Israel

Leviticus 23:1-44

God's primary focus is the salvation of people and their worship of Him. The Bible tells us that God created man to live with Him, and that God's desire is to reveal the riches of His grace to man throughout all eternity.

(Eph 2:7) "That in the ages to come he might show the exceeding riches of his grace in his kindness toward us through Christ Jesus."

To get this point across to the people of Israel, God set aside several religious holidays. Note some important points about the annual feasts or festivals:

I. Introduction to the Feasts of the LORD. v1-2

II. The Sabbath v3

III. The Three Spring Feasts: Passover; Feast of Unleavened Bread, and Feast of Firstfruits.

These three feasts were closely connected, taking place during an eight day holiday period.

IV. The Feast of Pentecost or Harvest (v15-22)

V. The Feast of Trumpets (v23-25)

VI. Day of Atonement: 'Yom Kippur'

VII. The Feast of Tabernacles. v33-44